Reflection

This semester has been a very self identifying journey for me. Throughout the process I came across assignments I loved, and other ones I didn’t fancy as much. 

My favorite project was my video project utilizing Premiere. This project was so entertaining to create and it was one of the first programs I was able to use confidently. I have a lot to learn still, but while using the software I felt confident in my capabilities which made the process that much better.

In this course I know I will use a variety of all the tools. My prospective career doesn’t involve the creative aspects, but until I get to that position I will need to be able to understand how things are created. At my current marketing job I have been able to make use of all the things I have learned thus far. I know that I will for sure use premiere moving forward because right now video advertisements are very popular, especially in the childcare marketing field. 

Unfortunately, I think I will also make use of photoshop and graphic design tools. I say this solemnly because these were two tools that I expected to love, but I actually found myself struggling the most with. None the less I will need to be able to create digital graphics in order to excel in my career, so I look forward to exploring the programs further. 

I had so much fun creating the audio  and video stories. I even began contemplating if I wanted to change career path because I enjoyed creating pieces like them. However, as much fun as I had creating them, I think I will enjoy a more managerial position in marketing, versus a creative one. I think all the tools I learned are important because inorder to manage a team or oversee anything you must understand and be able to create things using these tools. In addition, for a lot of entry level positions companies like for you to be familiar with the adobe creative programs.

So far there weren’t any tools that I wished I would have learned that I didn’t. However, I do wish that I would have been able to make better use of photoshop. I struggled a lot with the creation of graphic designs and with photoshop, so that was very discouraging. I know that to combat this I just need to spend more time getting use to the program, but I do wish we had a longer amount of time to really learn the system. 

I didn’t use any outside tools. I found that the provided videos were very efficient. If I did use any outside tools it was just the adobe help page for basic questions. 

Leave a comment